SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2012-10-18 16:13:43

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

jst_joe wrote:

Seems that the only partitions being written to fstab are the ones selected to be used during install.
You can add the others manually and all is good.

This is true....but this has been a problem for me in all post 20120806 releases.  After my install of 10121015 failed to write the partitions to fstab or make them available, I went back and re-installed 20120806.  After the installation and reboot Thunar mounted my network shares and my other partitions as well (after authorization).
A dist-upgrade and "fix" to obmenu and I was in business.
Looking at my fstab there are no references to either my sda2 or sda3 partitions, only my sda1 boot and sda4 swap partitions.  Still, Thunar is finding the other two partitions.

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=9906111e-f0f2-43fc-a14e-1b88615fa76d /               ext3    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda4 during installation
UUID=52c170da-faed-4138-ad3f-f322d4427587 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/sr0        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0

Here is my mtab

rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
udev /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=379276,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
tmpfs /run tmpfs rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,size=304660k,mode=755 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/9906111e-f0f2-43fc-a14e-1b88615fa76d / ext3 rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
tmpfs /run/lock tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=5120k 0 0
tmpfs /run/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=1147120k 0 0
fusectl /sys/fs/fuse/connections fusectl rw,relatime 0 0
gvfs-fuse-daemon /home/afab4/.gvfs fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1000 0 0
/dev/sda2 /media/05c4f6fb-0c3c-450f-9422-52acb47f7939 ext3 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
/dev/sda3 /media/21791898-eabf-45fc-b74a-ab409fe65fdd ext3 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0

Last edited by afab4 (2012-10-18 16:47:11)


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#27 2012-10-19 15:14:46

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 718
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Back on 64bit and taking a break from the SUB100 club wink

http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … -100-club/

I would like to keep the above thread going in case of further ideas from the community.

->20121015 Install was flawless and the fastest I have experienced thus far (5mins?)
->Post install script - no problems observed (again super fast download speed achieved)
->Thunar opens before I have clicked the mouse lol - well you know what I mean - instant!


Great work...again!

Offline

#28 2012-10-21 17:35:39

jonth
New Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Hi, new here.

I  tried installing Waldorf from USB (using the dd method from the wiki http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/statler … stallation).

The installation hangs on "Detect Disks" . I have tried both 27th sept and 15th oct isos.

I have an IBM T43 laptop. It has the IBM recovery partition on it and I'd prefer to keep it. I have previously installed the latest Statler from CD and that worked flawlessly. I also tried using the netinstall script way of installing Waldorf, and I was unable to use any of the debian installers except for the daily net image.

Could you please tell me how I can help diagnosing the problem?

Offline

#29 2012-10-21 17:45:57

lcafiero
The #! Guy
From: Felton, California, USA
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 2,225
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I believe I'm seeing a trend here.

Here's the thread that has the workaround for this problem:

http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … ect-disks/

Also, I think there's a problem with the T40 series (T40 through T43) of ThinkPad because yesterday I had the same problem installing on a T42 (my workaround here: Remove T42 hard drive, put it in a ThinkPad T30, install on the T30, then return the hard drive to the T42 -- not the ideal solution, to be sure).

Hope the link helps.


Res publica non dominetur | Larry the CrunchBang Guy speaks of the pompetous of CrunchBang

CrunchBang Forum moderator

Offline

#30 2012-10-21 21:38:23

jonth
New Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@Icafiero Thanks for the link. However, according to corenominal both of the images I tried should have had the new installer, so I probably have a different problem, right?

I will try some of the things from that thread and see what happens, though I'm a bit unclear what exactly the solutions are right now smile

Offline

#31 2012-10-21 22:09:24

jonth
New Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Problem solved for T43 installation! I looked at the terminal by doing ctrl+alt+f4 and I saw the following message (and lots of surrounding crap) looping

Buffer I/O error on device fd0

I googled and the solution was simply to disable floppy legacy driver  in the bios. 20121015 then worked perfectly for me. For the record, I did not even yet have an /etc/fstab at this point of the installation.

Offline

#32 2012-10-21 22:19:07

jonth
New Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Wanted to point out that for some reason my wifi didn't work until I restarted once, so I had to run cb-welcome manually.

Offline

#33 2012-10-23 07:07:31

vic
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,340

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Oh how I love the smell of a fresh #! install in the morning! Yesterday I tried to upgrade my 12.04, original install were 11.04 so it was already upgraded two times. It ended as expected...pretty bad big_smile. Had planned to get rid of it anyway and replace it with Waldorf. It just happened a little bit earlier than I had thought. Install were very smooth sailing, everything that should work ootb does that, so nothing exciting to report. smile


Time to move on!#

Casual - A nano opera

Offline

#34 2012-10-26 15:34:58

Xardas
#! CrunchBanger
From: Belgica Regia
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 127

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

afab4 wrote:

The live install works flawlessly.  With Thunar, I am able to access network shares as well as the other partitions on my hard drive, even without any root authorization.
After installing to my hard drive though, I am unable to access the other partitions on my hard drive.
Trying to mount them in Thunar tells me that I need to have authorization to mount them but fails to give me the opportunity to do so.

Same problem here. Partitions on my hard drive are listed, but I am not authorized to access them (and nowhere I can give my password).

External disks works flawlessly though.


"There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want."
-Calvin

Offline

#35 2012-10-26 15:36:34

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#36 2012-11-01 16:39:13

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

In this past week I have had a laptop die on me while running Win7. Using my eee pc I downloaded the 64 bit edition of Waldorf dd'd it to usb key and recovered all my data. Then as my laptop is in need of a new hd I began using the eee pc as my daily machine again running an earlier build of Waldorf. It runs flawlessly. So much so I just finished watching a movie in HD while torrenting the latest 32 bit Waldorf. Tomorrow I will do a clean install of the new build.

I owe a large amount of the knowledge I have gained about linux, the command line and setup/recovery in general to Crunchbang. I'm incredibly impressed at how polished Waldorf is. Thanks Philip.


pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#37 2012-11-01 17:31:05

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

^ +1

Offline

#38 2012-11-01 18:11:21

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,227
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

becker wrote:

In this past week I have had a laptop die on me while running Win7.

Curious here.  Did Win7 give you a BSOD saying your HDD was dead on that laptop?

That's what brought me to Linux in the first place 5 years ago  (W2K though), and Linux is still using that HDD today.  Thank you Microsoft! devil

SliTaz Linux over on my MIL's really old Conpaq Presario.

Maybe the laptop isn't dead.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-11-01 18:11:55)


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#39 2012-11-02 00:13:36

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

No Windows didn't give me any warnings at all. I was watching a movie and it was chopping and pausing constantly so I decided to reboot and it just refused to boot. I got a cursor on a blank screen and that was it. After getting my data off it I installed Waldorf without incident but again on boot it showed a cursor and a blank screen. I hadn't even gotten as far as selecting the kernel to boot.

I'm not sure what to try from here I'm thinking it might be the HD that's failing. So I'm going to replace that and see if that cures things.


pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#40 2012-11-02 01:23:33

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,227
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

becker wrote:

No Windows didn't give me any warnings at all. I was watching a movie and it was chopping and pausing constantly so I decided to reboot and it just refused to boot. I got a cursor on a blank screen and that was it. After getting my data off it I installed Waldorf without incident but again on boot it showed a cursor and a blank screen. I hadn't even gotten as far as selecting the kernel to boot.

I'm not sure what to try from here I'm thinking it might be the HD that's failing. So I'm going to replace that and see if that cures things.

I'm not a geek at all but if you went through the install process with Waldorf and it worked, I doubt it's the HDD.  Maybe something else. OK so the GUI didn't start BUT the install would have failed if it was the HDD.

Just a thought.


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#41 2012-11-03 09:59:20

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I've just done a fresh install of this latest build (32 bit PAE) of Waldorf on my Asus Eee pc. The install went without incident. I chose guided partitioning, no encryption or lvm, seperate /home. Once install completed I connected to my wifi router and proceeded with the cb-welcome script.

There was an error during the package list update. Due to a "Hash sum mismatch"
acpeQuVh.jpg

The biggest issue with the error is it stopped the cb-welcome script cold but without any notification.

To explan, I didn't get the error while running the script I had to rerun "sudo apt-get update" afterwards to see what the issue was. The "cb-welcome" script just moved onto the next section and the only reason I knew something was wrong was because it was proceeding too fast. So the error didn't stop the script it appeared to run as normal but nothing was actually installed.

Now I'm writing this in the new install. Due the the package update error I can't install anything, I've tried the update half a dozen times with the same result.

Here's my sources.list

## CRUNCHBANG
## Compatible with Debian Wheezy, but use at your own risk.
deb http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main
#deb-src http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main

## DEBIAN
deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://http.debian.org/debian wheezy main contrib non-free

## DEBIAN SECURITY
deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#42 2012-11-03 12:48:50

hashbanger
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 243

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

As always: eMule mirror updated. smile
Thanks for another great update, will give it a run in my VM later.


FreeBSD | OpenBSD | Windows. Randomly lurking.
Decentralized #! eD2k/Kad mirror.

Offline

#43 2012-11-03 13:17:52

chameleon
UK #! Guy
From: Luxembourg
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 718
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@becker
I had a similar problem recently.
You could try editing your sources.list Debian mirror to a mirror geographically close to you.

Offline

#44 2012-11-03 13:56:47

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

chameleon wrote:

@becker
I had a similar problem recently.
You could try editing your sources.list Debian mirror to a mirror geographically close to you.

Thanks for the suggestion I've changed the debian repo and it's resolved the issue.

The cb-welcome script still needs to be looked at though due to the total lack of notification to the user if there is an error.


pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#45 2012-11-03 15:29:48

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,105
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

becker wrote:

The cb-welcome script still needs to be looked at though due to the total lack of notification to the user if there is an error.

Agreed. Added to my todo list.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#46 2012-11-03 16:16:14

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,956

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Suggestion for cb-welcome:  Rather than S to skip and any other key to confirm, how about Y to confirm and any other key to skip?

Offline

#47 2012-11-03 16:29:56

becker
#! CrunchBanger
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2010-02-26
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

pvsage wrote:

Suggestion for cb-welcome:  Rather than S to skip and any other key to confirm, how about Y to confirm and any other key to skip?

Actually I was thinking about this today. It's more natural to press Y(yes) when you want to confirm something. Plus having just 1 key to confirm reduces the chance of mistakes.


pay the bills with Windows, obssesed with Linux, studying CCNA when I can fit it in.

Offline

#48 2012-11-05 00:04:24

mishle
#! CrunchBanger
From: Bitterroot Valley
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 167

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I would agree to the Y to confirm as I have mis-typed the s key on more than one occasion.

Offline

#49 2012-11-15 11:01:04

f.zweig
New Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 4

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Since 2011-11-12, fonts-liberation doesn't provide ttf-liberation anymore (see http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=689575). The package "waldorf-slim-theme" depends on ttf-liberation, thus breaking a upgrade to fonts-liberation 1.07.2-6. Could you please update waldorf-slim-theme to depend on fonts-liberation instead of ttf-liberation? Thank you. smile

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#50 2012-11-15 13:16:54

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I would agree to the Y to confirm as I have mis-typed the s key on more than one occasion.

Me too actually. I accidentally installed java on a new install on another machine the other day and had to remove it. hmm

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo