SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-20 06:44:38

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Transparency everything on startup.

Hey, This is my first post. I was wondering if there was a way to make everything transparent. I'm using xcompmgr and I have my tint2 and menus transparent. I can obviously set the transparency once the window is open using the pipemenu in the default #! openbox menu but I was hoping there was a way to do this by default. I've seen scripts for having transparent inactive windows but I want EVERYTHING transparent lol. Any suggestions? Any help would be much appreciated.  smile

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-11-20 11:13:33

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

obmenu > settings > compton > edit compositing settings

Offline

#3 2012-11-20 13:28:05

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

dura wrote:

obmenu > settings > compton > edit compositing settings

I'm not sure if I have compton installed. My menu was gutted when i installed #!. I looked in .config to see if there was an rc file to play with but no dice. Is it in the stock menu? I think I can find a back up somewhere.

Offline

#4 2012-11-20 13:45:20

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

okay i found a .deb file for compton but when I try to install it says it can't resolve dependency libconfig9 and it's not found in default repos. the only .deb i can find online for it is an amd64 version of it. should i just use that? i'm running i686

Offline

#5 2012-11-20 13:47:48

hhh
Caught in the Vortex
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 2,730

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

You said you were using xcompmgr, so you can't use compton at the same time as it's also a compositor. If your on Statler, you don't have compton by default. I don't know if compton will install in Statler, but try the i386 deb in the Waldorf repo...
http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf/ … 1_i386.deb

Offline

#6 2012-11-20 14:13:06

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

hhh wrote:

You said you were using xcompmgr, so you can't use compton at the same time as it's also a compositor. If your on Statler, you don't have compton by default. I don't know if compton will install in Statler, but try the i386 deb in the Waldorf repo...
http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf/ … 1_i386.deb

That's what I did. I realize I can only use one compositor at a time. If it does what I need 1 is more than enough. Looks like statler is locked on libconfig8 though.

Offline

#7 2012-11-20 14:17:45

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

tommy@lambo:~$ apt-cache search libconfig
libcameleon-ocaml-dev - libraries from Cameleon
libconfig-any-perl - module to load configuration from different file formats
libconfig-apacheformat-perl - use Apache format config files
libconfig-augeas-perl - module for manipulating configuration files through Augeas
libconfig-auto-perl - Magical config file parser
libconfig-file-perl - Parses simple configuration files
libconfig-general-perl - Generic Configuration Module
libconfig-gitlike-perl - Perl module for Git-compatible config file parsing
libconfig-grammar-perl - grammar-based user-friendly config parser
libconfig-ini-perl - Perl module for reading and writing .ini files
libconfig-inifiles-perl - Read .ini-style configuration files
libconfig-inihash-perl - Perl extension for reading and writing INI files
libconfig-jfdi-perl - Perl module to load any configuration files
libconfig-json-perl - parser for JSON-based configuration files
libconfig-model-approx-perl - Approx proxy server configuration editor
libconfig-model-backend-augeas-perl - Read and write configuration data through Augeas
libconfig-model-cursesui-perl - Curses interface to edit config data through Config::Model
libconfig-model-itself-perl - graphical model editor for Config::Model
libconfig-model-openssh-perl - OpenSSH configuration file editor
libconfig-model-perl - module for describing and editing configuration data
libconfig-model-tkui-perl - Tk GUI to edit config data through Config::Model
libconfig-mvp-perl - multivalue-property package-oriented configuration module
libconfig-mvp-reader-ini-perl - Perl module providing a MVP config reader for .ini files
libconfig-scoped-perl - Feature rich configuration file parser
libconfig-simple-perl - simple configuration file class
libconfig-std-perl - Load and save configuration files in a standard format
libconfig-tiny-perl - Read/Write .ini style files with as little code as possible
libconfig-yaml-perl - module for manipulating YAML-based configuration files
libconfig++8-dev - parsing and manipulation of structured config files(C++ development)
libconfig++8 - parsing and manipulation of structured configuration files(C++ binding)
libconfig8-dev - parsing and manipulation of structured config files(development)
libconfig8 - parsing and manipulation of structured configuration files
libconfigreader-perl - Perl module for reading configuration files
libconfigreader-simple-perl - simple configuration file parser

If anybody can find a 32 bit version .deb file of libconfig9 I'd be in you're debt.
I found an rpm based version in an opensuse forum but it's not a .deb. hmm

Offline

#8 2012-11-20 14:27:46

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

This is ridiculous. I found a 32 bit libconfig 9 then it said I needed 'multiarch-support' then when I tried installing that it said it needed libc6. It's a never ending chain of dependencies not in the default repos. I guess the better question is how do I install waldorf on a computer that can't run dvd's? haha

Offline

#9 2012-11-20 14:31:27

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

Easy. My x121e doesn't have an optical drive. Make a live usb, following this method:

http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/statler … stallation

Then you have all the transparency you want smile

Offline

#10 2012-11-20 14:37:55

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

dura wrote:

Easy. My x121e doesn't have an optical drive. Make a live usb, following this method:

http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/statler … stallation

Then you have all the transparency you want smile

Appreciate it boss! smile

Offline

#11 2012-11-20 16:41:27

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

Ok now that I have waldorf and compton. Back to the original question. How do I get transparency all over? I'm completely new to compton so I'm not sure if i should be messing with the configuration file or the autostart file with a certain code there.

Offline

#12 2012-11-20 19:55:48

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

Anyone? If anything show me your compton setup so I can get some idea of what I'm doing.

Offline

#13 2012-11-20 21:12:11

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

# Shadow
shadow = true;
no-dnd-shadow = true;
#no-dock-shadow = true;
clear-shadow = true;
shadow-radius = 7;
shadow-offset-x = -7;
shadow-offset-y = -7;
shadow-opacity = 0.7;
# shadow-red = 0.0;
# shadow-green = 0.0;
# shadow-blue = 0.0;
shadow-exclude = [ "n:e:Notification" ];
# shadow-exclude = "n:e:Notification";
shadow-ignore-shaped = false;

# Opacity
menu-opacity = 0.8;
inactive-opacity = 0.7;
frame-opacity = 0.7;
inactive-opacity-override = true;
alpha-step = 0.06;

# Fading
fading = true;
# fade-delta = 30;
fade-in-step = 0.03;
fade-out-step = 0.03;
# no-fading-openclose = true;

# Other
mark-wmwin-focused = true;
mark-ovredir-focused = true;
use-ewmh-active-win = false;
detect-rounded-corners = true;
detect-client-opacity = true;
refresh-rate = 0;
vsync = "none";
dbe = false;
paint-on-overlay = false;
sw-opti = false;
unredir-if-possible = false;

# Window type settings
wintypes:
{
  tooltip = { fade = true; shadow = false; opacity = 0.75; };
};

Here's what I have so far but I can't figure out how to make my panel transparent like I could in xcompmgr and is there anyway to make the active window transparent?

Offline

#14 2012-11-21 15:44:53

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

Don't touch your autostart at all.

You can experiment quite a bit with compton settings to see what you like and find practical.

To change the translucency of the panel ignore the compton file and instead fiddle with tint2:

obmenu > tint2 > edit config file

In tint2:

# Background definitions
# ID 1
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #000000 0
border_color = #828282 0

# ID 2 - task active
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #00697C 20
border_color = #d8b8d8 20

# ID 3 - task
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #000000 0
border_color = #000000 0

# ID 4
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #888888 20
border_color = #ED2323 60

# ID 5 - taskbar
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #000000 0
border_color = #000000 0

# ID 6 - active taskbar
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #f8f8f8 4
border_color = #d8d8d8 0

# ID 7 - tooltip
rounded = 3
border_width = 0
background_color = #222222 70
border_color = #222222 90

# ID 8
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #888888 20
border_color = #888888 20

You can see that there are figures after colours. For instance, a 20 after #888888. The 20 indicates the opacity out of 100.

If you examine your tint2 config file more closely you will see that each element uses a particular ID. So the panel can be more or less translucent than your active task for example.

But really, you should be looking at the #! site more closely, because there is a tint2 thread, as well as a Tint2 How To. Search for VastOne in the users list, or find his name in a thread (he posts variously) and see the link in his signature. OK. I'll do if for you:

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=16997

In terms of active window transparency, you could change the active window window decorations opacity. This line does that.

frame-opacity = 0.7;

You can decide whether to use compton.conf from the obmenu or .comptonrc, which should be in your home folder as a hidden file. Compton.conf is much easier and probably the recommended method.

For more information as to compton settings:

man compton

There's a compton thread too probably somewhere.

Last edited by dura (2012-11-21 15:55:05)

Offline

#15 2012-11-21 16:19:20

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

Oh, and here's my compton.conf

# Shadow
shadow = false;
no-dnd-shadow = true;
no-dock-shadow = true;
clear-shadow = true;
shadow-radius = 10
#shadow-offset-x = -4
#shadow-offset-y = -4
shadow-opacity = 0.7
#shadow-red = 0.0
#shadow-green = 0.0
#shadow-blue = 0.0
#shadow-exclude = [ "n:e:Notification" ];
#shadow-exclude = "n:e:Notification";

# Opacity
menu-opacity = 0.79;
#inactive-opacity = 0.9;
#frame-opacity = 0.7;
inactive-opacity-override = true;

# Fading
fading = false;
# fade-delta = 30
fade-in-step = 0.08
fade-out-step = 0.08
# no-fading-openclose = true;

# Other
mark-wmwin-focused = true;

# Window type settings
wintypes:
{
  tooltip = { fade = true; shadow = false; opacity = 0.90; };

}

And my comptonrc:

# compton start-up command used by CrunchBang's compositing pipemenu.
# See 'man compton' for details about how to modify these settings.

## Basic
#EXECXCOMP='compton -cC -o 0.50 -G -b'

## Less basic - tip: uncomment below and comment out above, then restart
EXECXCOMP='compton -cC -fF -o 0.50 -I 0.095 -O 0.095 -D 6 -m 0.99 -G -b -e 0.76 -i 0.9'

And a way of getting trick translucency whilst on desktop is to have matching colour wallpaper and gtkrc and themerc. For that you'd have to customize an existing theme. Copy one from /usr/share/themes into .themes   Then go for it, using lxappearance and obconf to switch to it. Here for example, is a completely impractical white wallpaper with white gtkrc:

tZ2U3ZQ

Offline

#16 2012-11-22 06:56:27

TommyDust
Member
Registered: 2012-11-20
Posts: 12

Re: Transparency everything on startup.

I did a little bit of research and got myself sorted. I was just kind of turned off to the fact that everyone's opinion on xcompmgr was that I needed to switch to compton and when I did it had almost the exact same options. also contrary to popular opinion I experienced more bugs in compton. I just needed to know how to turn the "active" window transparent(don't think it's possible). Here's my layout thus far: 34hi0yv.png

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo