SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#5101 2013-04-16 22:54:20

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

lwfitz wrote:

The later P4's which came as a socket 775 were dual core and actually pretty decent CPU's

Learned something today.  Haveing gone from a PIII to an AMD Athlon (single core) I missed all the Intel P4 stuff.
Live an learn.   Been reading some, since my DUH moment, as well and found out some had/have hyperthreading technology.  big_smile

Thanks pvsage and lwfitz  Been a good day.


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5102 2013-04-17 05:43:32

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:
ragamatrix wrote:

a system horizontal conky. I made a "cooking lua script" with all these lua scripts... If there are no leaks I will post if someone is interested in.
lua sauce
lol

Hey, I'm interested ... that look very nice.  Screenwidth is 1920 isn't it.  big_smile

You have a quad core but only show 2 cpus?

Besides I like the name: lua sauce

Hello Sector11
I got a quite old machine with 2 cpu's and P4 4... But linux is good for this... isn't it ?
Here's the Horizontal-multi-lua-conky-1920
Have nice tests enjoy
With my p4 I'm still in the era of "pléistocène"  lol
EDIT:
I added the missing font symbol.ttf in the archive.

Last edited by ragamatrix (2013-04-17 06:25:29)

Offline

#5103 2013-04-17 08:02:43

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

In the text.lua something goes wrong when the script lua call externals things. I Advice you to comment these lines:

--[[{
			text=conky_parse".::${execi 120 wget -q -O - checkip.dyndns.org | sed -e 's/[^[:digit:]|.]//g'}::.",
			font_size=12,
			h_align="l",
			y=17,
			x=1425,
			colour=col_fs_home,
			orientation="ee"
		},--]]

And:

--[[{
			text=conky_parse"${execi 1000 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq}",
			font_size=10,
			font_name="Mono",
			h_align="c",
			y=15,
			x=690,
			colour=col_fs_home,
		},--]]				

Offline

#5104 2013-04-17 12:00:44

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

In the text.lua something goes wrong when the script lua call externals things. I Advice you to comment these lines:

Hi ragamatrix

Well I ran #! with a P-III so I'm sure your P4 dual core is doing just fine

Grabbed the file and made a note of your advice to comment out two sections.

Thank you.   Will post later today.


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5105 2013-04-17 12:49:58

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 459

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

In the text.lua something goes wrong when the script lua call externals things. I Advice you to comment these lines:

--[[{
			text=conky_parse".::${execi 120 wget -q -O - checkip.dyndns.org | sed -e 's/[^[:digit:]|.]//g'}::.",
			font_size=12,
			h_align="l",
			y=17,
			x=1425,
			colour=col_fs_home,
			orientation="ee"
		},--]]

And:

--[[{
			text=conky_parse"${execi 1000 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq}",
			font_size=10,
			font_name="Mono",
			h_align="c",
			y=15,
			x=690,
			colour=col_fs_home,
		},--]]				

do u have problems because write error?

conky_parse(${execi 1000 cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //'| uniq}),

Offline

#5106 2013-04-17 13:43:07

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@lionhead
I've seen that the script is going to freeze a litlle  become slow and datas are not correctly refresh.

Offline

#5107 2013-04-17 16:19:04

lwfitz
#! Die Hard
From: Monrovia, CA
Registered: 2012-01-19
Posts: 886
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

Learned something today.  Haveing gone from a PIII to an AMD Athlon (single core) I missed all the Intel P4 stuff.
Live an learn.   Been reading some, since my DUH moment, as well and found out some had/have hyperthreading technology.  big_smile

Thanks pvsage and lwfitz  Been a good day.


Glad to help buddy big_smile

Offline

#5108 2013-04-17 23:37:29

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ ragamatrix

It's getting there
I have an AMD X3 so I'm using cpu0 for the average,  I've added root and / media/5 - still more work to do though.
Oh, and I added "Air Force D" (font) to get the silhouette of the SR-71 on the left - looks like it has red/yellow exhaust.

But I though you might like to see it.
Qum_YD4al.jpg


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please use thumbnails (please try to avoid the large thumbnail imgur.com code) linking to the larger image to help those of us with slow connections. An example of the code needed is below. Most image hosting sites will automatically generate this for you as well. Users have been using postimage.org lately which does a nice job.

[url=http://link.to.your.fullsized.image][img]http://link.to.your.thumbnail.image[/img][/url]

Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5109 2013-04-18 03:06:12

DapperMe17
#! CrunchBanger
From: Todd's Gang
Registered: 2012-10-19
Posts: 221

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11,

You do wonderful looking work! Keep up the talented work.

I'd also like to add a "CPU: 1" and "CPU: 2" temp reading in Conky. I've tried some various settings, but just can't seem to get it to bind correctly.

My sensors output in terminal show....

"Core 0:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
"Core 1:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

Just looking for a simple command, or your red-yellow-green color managed method.

Thanks!
cool

Offline

#5110 2013-04-18 07:14:32

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

S11 wrote:

@ ragamatrix
It's getting there
I have an AMD X3 so I'm using cpu0 for the average,  I've added root and / media/5 - still more work to do though.
Oh, and I added "Air Force D" (font) to get the silhouette of the SR-71 on the left - looks like it has red/yellow exhaust.

Glad to see that you're playing with ! The idea of the silhouette of the SR-71 is great !
Nice work as usual !

Offline

#5111 2013-04-18 08:34:50

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@Sector11
I really like your graphics ideas... space-ship

Offline

#5112 2013-04-18 09:13:21

Naik
#! Die Hard
From: Leipzig
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 595

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hey there!

in case anyone is intrested: I`m still messing around with MoC and Conky and made a little time progressbar

#! /bin/bash
##mocp-conky timebar


cs=`mocp --info | grep CurrentSec | cut -f2 -d ":"`
ts=`mocp --info | grep TotalSec | cut -f2 -d ":"`

perc=$(( ($cs * 100)/$ts ))

if  [[ "$perc" =~ ^[0-9]+$ ]]  
	then
		echo $perc
	else
		echo 'Zeit ist relativ..'
fi

as You see there is a place left for a text/string displayed when time-info is not available (when listening to streams e.g.)
time NA

else it will be displaying a little progressbar running full as the song proceeds:
2013-04-18--1366276335_188x74_scrot_zps59973b8a.png

greetz -naik


*kaum macht man es richtig, funktioniert es sofort*

Offline

#5113 2013-04-18 12:16:37

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

DapperMe17 wrote:

Sector11,

You do wonderful looking work! Keep up the talented work.

Not me, made up of LUA scripts by wlourf put together by ragamatrix and this is modified version of ragamatrix's work for my system.  Thank him.  Unless he C4'd it from someplace else.  big_smile

DapperMe17 wrote:

I'd also like to add a "CPU: 1" and "CPU: 2" temp reading in Conky. I've tried some various settings, but just can't seem to get it to bind correctly.

My sensors output in terminal show....

"Core 0:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
"Core 1:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

Just looking for a simple command, or your red-yellow-green color managed method.

Thanks!
cool

Look here: Using Sensors.  I'd recommend going directly to METHOD 3 - platform  and avoid Method 2 - hwmon since that method is known to change variables names at times. - the change is invisible to the system - but not to conky.

Anything you find in your "platform" directory that ends in "name_input" can be used in conky, my list looks like this:

/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/fan1_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/fan2_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/fan3_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in0_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in1_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in2_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in3_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in4_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in5_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in6_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in7_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/in8_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/f71882fg.2560/temp3_input

If you can't get #3 to work back to Method 1 - the old way with "exec" calls.

One more thing ... I don't have an Intel Chip (no Core1 Core2 etc) I have an AMD Chip...  just what do those temps belong to, I uses "sensors" and inxi, back to back to get that info with a bash alias sensen:

alias sensen='sensors && inxi -s -x -c24'
 18 Apr 13 | 09:06:13 ~
         $ sensen
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +30.0°C  (crit = +110.0°C)

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:        +26.8°C  (high = +70.0°C)

f71862fg-isa-0a00
Adapter: ISA adapter
+3.3V:        +3.44 V  
in1:          +1.35 V  
in2:          +1.51 V  
in3:          +0.86 V  
in4:          +0.00 V  
in5:          +0.00 V  
in6:          +0.00 V  
3VSB:         +3.41 V  
Vbat:         +2.88 V  
fan1:        1827 RPM
fan2:           0 RPM  ALARM
fan3:           0 RPM  ALARM
temp1:        +35.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
                       (crit = +70.0°C, hyst = +66.0°C)  sensor = transistor
temp2:        +31.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
                       (crit = +100.0°C, hyst = +96.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp3:       +127.0°C  (high = +70.0°C, hyst = +68.0°C)  ALARM (CRIT)
                       (crit = +85.0°C, hyst = +83.0°C)  sensor = transistor

Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0C mobo: 31.0C gpu: 0.0:38C 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1827 fan-2: 0 fan-3: 0 
 
 18 Apr 13 | 09:06:17 ~
         $ 

No I see what temps belong to what with that final Sensors:   System Temperatures:  big_smile

Wish they sold 3 wire fans here - All I can get are 2 wire - no fan speeds for any of my case fans.  sad

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-04-18 12:20:12)


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5114 2013-04-18 12:18:07

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

@Sector11
I really like your graphics ideas... http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/origi … 274050.png

Hahahahaha is that a StarWars fighter?  Where did you get that?  Looks good!


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5115 2013-04-18 12:38:55

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 459

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:
ragamatrix wrote:

@Sector11
I really like your graphics ideas... http://pix.toile-libre.org/upload/origi … 274050.png

Hahahahaha is that a StarWars fighter?  Where did you get that?  Looks good!

yea, it really looks like a x-wing-fighter smile

Offline

#5116 2013-04-18 14:51:25

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hi; Sector11 & Lionhead, It's famous spaceship font "May the force  be with you" wink
lionhead STIMMT oder richtig !!

Last edited by ragamatrix (2013-04-18 14:53:28)

Offline

#5117 2013-04-18 14:59:20

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 260

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I'm working to modify my conky deadbeef but it's not really fluently. It run music playing or radio.
movie multi deadbeef

Offline

#5118 2013-04-18 16:00:38

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 459

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

i'm using a part of mrpeachys script to draw bars:

function draw_bar(db)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
local var=nil
local dev=nil
local width=nil
local height=nil
local across=nil
local down=nil
local bgc=nil
local bga=nil
local inc=nil
local ina=nil
local lc=nil
local la=nil
local lw=nil
local rotate=nil
------------------------------------------------------------------------
var=db.var
dev=db.dev or ""
width=db.w
height=db.h
across=db.x
down=db.y
bgc=db.bgc -- background color
bga=db.bga or 1
inc=db.indc -- indicator color
ina=db.inda or 1
lc=db.lc -- line color
la=db.la or 1
lw=db.lw
rotate=db.r or 0 -- rotation of the bar
------------------------------------------------------------------------
--indicator calculation
conum=conky_parse("${"..var..' '..dev.."}")
conum=tonumber(conum)

local inum=(((width-lw)/100)*conum)
--background bar
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(bgc, bga));
cairo_rectangle (cr, 0, 0, (width-lw), (height-lw))
cairo_fill (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
--indicator bar
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(inc,ina));
cairo_rectangle (cr, 0, 0, inum, (height-lw))
cairo_fill (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
--boundary line
cairo_translate (cr, (across+(lw/2)), (down+(lw/2))) 
cairo_rotate (cr, rotate*math.pi/180)
cairo_set_line_width (cr, lw);
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr, col(lc,la));
cairo_rectangle (cr, -lw/2, -lw/2, width, height)
cairo_stroke (cr)
cairo_rotate (cr, (rotate*-1)*math.pi/180)
cairo_translate (cr, -1*(across+(lw/2)), -1*(down+(lw/2))) 
end

but unfortunately the script causes an error:

Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_weather execution failed: /home/alexander/v9000/v9000.lua:1746: attempt to perform arithmetic on global 'conum' (a nil value)

this is the 'problem-row':

local inum=(((width-lw)/100)*conum)

can u please help me? i hate errors smile

Last edited by lionhead (2013-04-18 16:01:47)

Offline

#5119 2013-04-18 18:19:25

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,544

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

DapperMe17 wrote:

Sector11,

You do wonderful looking work! Keep up the talented work.

I'd also like to add a "CPU: 1" and "CPU: 2" temp reading in Conky. I've tried some various settings, but just can't seem to get it to bind correctly.

My sensors output in terminal show....

"Core 0:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
"Core 1:" (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

Just looking for a simple command, or your red-yellow-green color managed method.

Thanks!
cool

Sector11 recommended using Method 3 - platform which is a good way to get what you need; just posting you the code I use - which is part of Method 1 from the his link:

in your conkyrc:

<Snip>
color7 00CDCD # - blue/cyan
color8 FFD700 # - gold
color9 DB7093 # - pale violet red

TEXT
${goto 4}Core1:${alignr 4}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore0.sh"}<=50}${color7}${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore0.sh"}<=70}${color8}${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore0.sh"}>70}${color9}${endif}${endif}${endif}${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore0.sh"}${offset 2}°C${color}${voffset 6}
${goto 4}Core2:${alignr 4}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore1.sh"}<=50}${color7}${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore1.sh"}<=70}${color8}${else}${if_match ${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore1.sh"}>70}${color9}${endif}${endif}${endif}${execpi 60 "$HOME/conky/TCore1.sh"}${offset 2}°C${color}${voffset 6}

and the TCoreX.sh - remember to make this script executable. Change "Core 0" to match your sensors output.

#!/bin/sh

sensors | awk '/Core 0/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'

Using the if_match configuration changes the temp color accordingly - can be used with any number i.e. cpu, mem

abn0QMTb.jpg

@naik - nice script

Last edited by PackRat (2013-04-18 18:19:58)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#5120 2013-04-18 18:44:32

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

Hi; Sector11 & Lionhead, It's famous spaceship font "May the force  be with you" wink
lionhead STIMMT oder richtig !!

RE: famous spaceships font: “The Force is strong with this one.”

Consider that font snagged.  Thanks!


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5121 2013-04-18 18:58:31

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

PackRat wrote:

Using the if_match configuration changes the temp color accordingly - can be used with any number i.e. cpu, mem

OK you have my curiosity.  I used Crinos512's colorize.sh scripts to schange colour prior to the "if_match" command hitting the streets.  But now that it's here why use a bash script and not the "sensors line" directly inside the if_match statement?

Just curious as there are 1001 ways to do things with Linux yours is one of them.  big_smile


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5122 2013-04-18 19:00:26

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

lionhead wrote:

i'm using a part of mrpeachys script to draw bars:

can u please help me? i hate errors smile

Yea, me too, but I can write a LUA script for nothing.  Maybe you need another "part of mrpeachy's script" that you cut out.


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

#5123 2013-04-18 19:31:52

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 459

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

it works but it displays errormessages in the terminal. this is the complete code (with rings):
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 805#p55805

Last edited by lionhead (2013-04-18 19:33:04)

Offline

#5124 2013-04-18 20:20:44

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,544

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:
PackRat wrote:

Using the if_match configuration changes the temp color accordingly - can be used with any number i.e. cpu, mem

OK you have my curiosity.  I used Crinos512's colorize.sh scripts to schange colour prior to the "if_match" command hitting the streets.  But now that it's here why use a bash script and not the "sensors line" directly inside the if_match statement?

Just curious as there are 1001 ways to do things with Linux yours is one of them.  big_smile

I find it easier to keep track of the code in the conkyrc by using the bash script. Also, if I want to change something, it is easier - for me anyway - to change it in the bash script and restart conky (I have key bindings for system, weather, tao etc ..). I avoid a lot of syntax errors in the conkyrc this way. Also, I found that using the bash script with hddtemp (the binary, not the conky command) and if_match works better - as in it actually works; otherwise I get null output with hddtemp.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5125 2013-04-18 20:43:41

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,232
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ PackRat

Interesting ... never thought of it in that light.

However I must add  that ${if_match} & ${hddtemp} (conky command) works for me - I get a N/A for a second than it comes in just fine.

Like I said: 1001 ways with 999 ways to mess up  big_smile


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo