SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#101 2013-03-02 12:35:06

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

post up some code.  what do you have in your .desktop.

/usr/share/xsessions/i3.desktop

Did you make any config file changes.  Doesn't sound like yu got that far, but figured I'd ask anyway.  The more information you give us the better we can help troubleshoot.


grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#102 2013-03-04 04:08:40

xtro
Member
Registered: 2012-11-18
Posts: 22

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Sorry, more levelheaded now. no config file changes, I can give any information hopefully, just have to know what you want. The file you specified:

Failed to execute file "i3" Invalid desktop configuration file.

When opened in geany it gives

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=i3
Comment=improved dynamic tiling window manager
Exec=i3
Type=XSession

Last edited by xtro (2013-03-04 04:09:32)

Offline

#103 2013-05-04 23:57:22

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

I have the latest version from debian experimental repos.

[Desktop Entry]
Name=i3
Comment=improved dynamic tiling window manager
Exec=i3
Type=Application

looks like this after approx. 1h of messing around with my first tiling wm
2013-05-05-0014511920x1080scrot.png

Offline

#104 2013-05-05 00:49:58

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

xtro wrote:

Sorry, more levelheaded now. no config file changes, I can give any information hopefully, just have to know what you want. The file you specified:

Failed to execute file "i3" Invalid desktop configuration file.

When opened in geany it gives

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=i3
Comment=improved dynamic tiling window manager
Exec=i3
Type=XSession

@xtro - apologies, I never got back to you.  Life has kept me pretty busy lately.  Did you ever get this sorted out?
My i3.desktop file looks like this

[Desktop Entry]
Name=i3
Comment= improved dynamic tiling window manager
Exec=i3
Type=Application

looks like the main difference is Type

if still not working try that, let us know.  If still borked, we'll try something else.


grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

#105 2013-05-05 07:28:59

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

I would install i3 via the debian repos
This solution works out of the box

first remove all parts from your installation in /usr/share/xsessions/i3.desktop
and if you have build your own version also this folder. also if you have created a .xsessionrc or something else in the home dir

I would suggest you to add experimental repos to get the latest stable version of i3

nano /etc/apt/sources.list

add the following line

deb http://http.debian.net/debian experimental main contrib non-free

save
in terminal

apt-get update && apt-get install i3

yes install it

after installation go back and remove experimental repos I would just comment it with a #

in terminal if you haven't already type

slimconf

add i3
i.e.

openbox-session,i3

then logout and with F1 you can change the windowmanager press until you reach i3 and enter your name and pw

you will be prompted if you want to create a config file just confirm the two steps.
with ALT+D dmenu opens and you can open programs like your browser, and then you can search for further information.

if you have conky installed you can display conkys information in the bar
my config file is the same as default just edited the bar

bar {
        #status_command i3status
        status_command ~/.i3/configs/i3-conky
        position top

        colors {
                # class                 border  backgr. text
                focused_workspace       #4c7899 #a7d800 #000000
                active_workspace        #333333 #000000 #a7d800
                inactive_workspace      #333333 #222222 #888888
                urgent_workspace        #2f343a #900000 #ffffff
        }
}

as you can see my .i3 folder has a dir called configs
where i have 2 files
i3-conky

#!/bin/sh

# Send the header so that i3bar knows we want to use JSON:
echo '{"version":1}'

# Begin the endless array.
echo '['

# We send an empty first array of blocks to make the loop simpler:
echo '[],'

# Now send blocks with information forever:
exec conky -c ~/.i3/configs/conkystatus

and yeah
conkystatus

out_to_x no
own_window no
out_to_console yes
background no
max_text_width 0

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 2.0

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Shortens units to a single character (kiB->k, GiB->G, etc.). Default is off.
short_units yes

# How strict should if_up be when testing an interface for being up?
# The value is one of up, link or address, to check for the interface
# being solely up, being up and having link or being up, having link
# and an assigned IP address.
if_up_strictness address

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
# use_spacer should have an argument of left, right, or none
use_spacer left

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# Stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen
TEXT

# JSON for i3bar

[
        { "full_text" : "${if_existing /proc/net/route wlan0}IP: ${addr wlan0} " , "color" : "\#a7d800"},
        { "full_text" : "  Up: ${uptime_short}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" },

        { "full_text" : "  CPU: ${cpu}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${cpu}>50}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  FS: ${fs_used_perc /}% ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" } ,

        { "full_text" : "  TEMP:${acpitemp}C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${acpitemp}>50}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  RAM: ${memperc}%  ${mem} / ${memmax}  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${memperc}>50}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} } ,

        { "full_text" : "  BATT: ${battery_percent BAT0}%  ${battery_time BAT0}  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<30}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} } ,

        { "full_text" : "  WLAN:${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}<65}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  ${time %a%e %B %G  %H:%M:%S}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" }



],

this should help you with the first steps
if you have any questions just ask them

Offline

#106 2013-05-05 07:43:03

chiffon_rouge
#! Member
Registered: 2011-07-24
Posts: 60

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

apt-get update && apt-get install i3

This will only get you the version from the Waldorf/Wheezy repository (or Squeeze if you use that, but who does?). What you would want to do is ...

apt-get update && apt get install -t experimental i3

... if you need/want the most recent package for Debian (the version for Wheezy is 4.2, which runs without any troubles).

Offline

#107 2013-05-05 08:01:39

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

there is no i3 package in the #! repos but you are right.
I have forgotten that I have set the experimental repo in my /etc/apt/preferences smile

Thy for the correction

Just one hint

i3 changelog wrote:

This is the i3 v4.5.1, a bugfix release. This version is considered stable. All
users of i3 are strongly encouraged to upgrade.

Last edited by Blackout (2013-05-05 08:03:54)

Offline

#108 2013-05-05 16:50:29

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,549

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

i3 has repos for debian and ubuntu if you always want the latest release:

http://i3wm.org/docs/repositories.html


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#109 2013-05-05 20:18:34

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

i3 wrote:

You are using Debian stable
The latest version of i3 will be in Debian testing quite soon. The version in Debian stable can be old, however (we cannot update it after stable has been released). The best way is to add Debian testing and tell apt to prefer Debian stable. You should not use our repository.

whatever someone likes big_smile

Offline

#110 2013-05-05 21:14:35

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,549

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

^ I know, I remembered #! is based on Debian Stable not testing right after I posted that.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#111 2013-05-07 17:44:15

dmesg
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 8

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

dkeg wrote:

okay, colored conky in i3 status bar.  Most of this info can be found in the i3 documentation, but requires some drilling down.   Here are the steps required

http://pastebin.com/di6BDgXU

EDIT: add scrot
http://s19.postimage.org/q1sy7p2f3/2013_01_26_1359212610.jpg

Looks very good but is it possible that you can post also your Xresources or where you have stored them as the screen shot is missing some lines. That will be really great - I think I'm i3wm addicted :-)

Last edited by dmesg (2013-05-07 17:45:08)

Offline

#112 2013-05-07 18:17:54

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

sure dmesg, I'm not on that machine atm, and have since changed, of course right!.  I'm sure I have them saved.  I'll post it up later.


grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

#113 2013-05-07 19:14:16

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,549

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

^^
I thought you posted that scheme in this thread as well.

Last edited by PackRat (2013-05-07 19:14:51)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#114 2013-05-19 18:52:35

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

@PackRat, not sure if I did.  I think this is what I was using at the time.  Could / probably some variances, but the core is there. 

!!!!! MOLOKAI INSPIRED !!!!!

URxvt*font:                 xft:Source Code Pro:regular:size=8
!URxvt*boldFont:             xft:Source Code Pro:bold:size=8

!URxvt*letterSpace: -1 
URxvt.urlLauncher: elinks
URxvt.matcher.button: 2
URxvt.matcher.pattern.1: \\bwww\\.[\\w-]\\.[\\w./?&@#-]*[\\w/-]
URxvt*urgentOnBell:true

URxvt*transparent:	false
!URxvt*shading:		50
URxvt*fading:		50
URxvt*fadeColor:	#252525

*geometry: 80x18 

Urxvt*termName:         rxvt
Urxvt*allow_bold:   false 
*scrollBar: false

URxvt*background:       	#252525
urxvt*foreground:           #AEAEAE
URxvt*cursorColor:      	#6B6765
URxvt*colorBD:          	#BFBAB8
URxvt*colorUL:			#54838F
URxvt*underlineColor:    	#7A4D62

!black
urxvt*color0:    #1b1d1e
urxvt*color8:    #505354
!red
urxvt*color1:    #DE5D83
urxvt*color9:    #FFAACC
!green
urxvt*color2:    #82b414
urxvt*color10:   #b6e354
!yellow
urxvt*color3:    #fd971f
urxvt*color11:   #feed6c
!blue
urxvt*color4:    #56c2d6
urxvt*color12:   #8cedff
!magenta
urxvt*color5:    #8c54fe
urxvt*color13:   #9e6ffe
!cyan
urxvt*color6:    #465457
urxvt*color14:   #899ca1
!white
urxvt*color7:    #ccccc6
urxvt*color15:   #f8f8f2

grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

#115 2013-06-13 14:21:46

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Afternoon All,
Using dkeg guide http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 22#p285922 I have a bar nearly as I want it. However, I can't seem to get a working time & date in to the script.
This is what I'm using for conky.

out_to_x no
own_window no
out_to_console yes
background no
max_text_width 0
update_interval 2.0
total_run_times 0
short_units yes
cpu_avg_samples 4
 
TEXT

# JSON for i3bar
 
 [
 

		{ "full_text" : "  Up: ${uptime_short}  " , "color" : "\#315858" },
 
        { "full_text" : "  CPU: ${cpu}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${cpu}>10}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  Home: ${fs_free /home} Free  " , "color" : "\#315858" } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  Temp: ${acpitemp}°C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${acpitemp}>43}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  RAM: ${memperc}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${memperc}>25}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  Batt: ${battery_percent BAT0}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<30}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  Wlan: ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}% " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}<65}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} }
 
],

 
## Link to the conky_i3bar.sh script in the config file
 
status_command $HOME/bin/conky-i3bar.sh

I had

{ "full_text" : "  ${time %a %b %d  %k:%M}  " , "color" : "\#FFFFFF" },

after the [ which displayed the date & time, but didn't update the time. Any other placement and conky doesn't start. I've also tried
${time %a %b %d  %k:%M}
elsewhere to no effect.

Any help gratefully received.


I didn't say it was your fault... I said I was going to blame you.

Offline

#116 2013-06-13 15:48:03

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

# JSON for i3bar

[
        { "full_text" : "${kernel}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800"},

        ${if_up wlan0}{ "full_text" : "  WLAN: ${addr wlan0}  ", "color" : "\#a7d800"},${endif}

        ${if_up eth0}{ "full_text"  :"  ETH: ${addr eth0}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800"},${endif}

        { "full_text" : "  Up: ${uptime_short}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" },

        { "full_text" : "  ${freq} Mhz  " , "color" : "\#a7d800"},

        { "full_text" : "  CPU: ${cpu}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${cpu}>50}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  FS: ${fs_used_perc /}% ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" } ,

        { "full_text" : "  TEMP:${acpitemp}C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${acpitemp}>60}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },

        { "full_text" : "  RAM: ${memperc}%  ${mem} / ${memmax}  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${memperc}>50}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} } ,

        { "full_text" : "  BATT: ${battery_percent BAT0}%  ${battery_time BAT0}  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<30}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} } ,

        ${if_up wlan0}
        { "full_text" : "  WLAN:${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}<65}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#a7d800"${endif} },
        ${endif}

        { "full_text" : "  ${time %a %e %B %G  %H:%M:%S}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" }



],

try mine ;D

probably there is a  "," too much at the end

Last edited by Blackout (2013-06-13 15:49:18)

Offline

#117 2013-06-14 08:58:29

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Thanks for the replies. I've just noticed that my bar is not updating at all.
[quote}CPU 100% | RAM 1% | Batt 100%{/quote]
Have been on battery only for about 30 minutes. It's an old battery and normally only lasts about 45-60 minutes.
So here is my conkyrc

out_to_x no
own_window no
out_to_console yes
background no
max_text_width 0
update_interval 2.0
total_run_times 0
short_units yes
cpu_avg_samples 4
 
TEXT

# JSON for i3bar
 
 [
		{ "full_text" : "  Up: ${uptime_short}  " , "color" : "\#315858" }, 
 
        { "full_text" : "  CPU: ${cpu}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${cpu}>10}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  Home: ${fs_free /home} Free  " , "color" : "\#315858" } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  Temp: ${acpitemp}°C  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${acpitemp}>43}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} },
 
        { "full_text" : "  RAM: ${memperc}%  " , "color" :
                ${if_match ${memperc}>25}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} } ,
 
        { "full_text" : "  Batt: ${battery_percent BAT0}%  " , "color" :
               ${if_match ${battery_percent BAT0}<30}"\#bf3f34"${else}"\#315858"${endif} } ,
 
		{ "full_text" : "  ${time %b %d  %H:%M}  " , "color" : "\#a7d800" }

],

 
## Link to the conky_i3bar.sh script in the config file
 
status_command $HOME/bin/conky-i3bar.sh

Here is the conky-i3bar.sh script

#!/bin/sh
 
# Send the header so that i3bar knows we want to use JSON:
echo '{ "version": 1 }'
 
# Begin the endless array.
echo '['
 
# We send an empty first array of blocks to make the loop simpler:
echo '[],'
 
# Now send blocks with information forever:
exec conky -c $HOME/.i3/.conkyrc

If I restart i3, i3bar refreshes but it still doesn't update. I'm must be missing something obvious, but cannot see what it is... can anyone help please?


I didn't say it was your fault... I said I was going to blame you.

Offline

#118 2013-06-14 10:16:15

Blackout
Member
Registered: 2010-12-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

I have tested your config file and the behavior is caused of your last line

status_command $HOME/bin/conky-i3bar.sh

just uncomment it and it will work.
I have no clue why you have added this line

it works this way
the .i3 config file calles the conky start .sh file

.i3/config
bar {
	status_command ~/.i3/configs/i3-conky-start
	position top
}

the conky start configures the syntax and calles at the end the conkystatus file which displays your sys information

#!/bin/sh

# Send the header so that i3bar knows we want to use JSON:
echo '{"version":1}'

# Begin the endless array.
echo '['

# We send an empty first array of blocks to make the loop simpler:
echo '[],'

# Now send blocks with information forever:
exec conky -c ~/.i3/configs/conkystatus

Last edited by Blackout (2013-06-14 10:20:10)

Offline

#119 2013-06-14 10:52:36

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Many thanks Blackout.

I have no clue why you have added this line

Me either... it is the vagaries of cut & paste without looking properly  ops

However, I am loving i3 though, especially the tabbed mode. Which brings me on to another question, really trivial, but can I start i3 in tabbed mode? I've looked through the i3 site but can't see anything obvious.


I didn't say it was your fault... I said I was going to blame you.

Offline

#120 2013-06-14 12:34:50

tenkainen
Member
From: Tampere, Finland
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 30

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

donkeyotay wrote:

...
However, I am loving i3 though, especially the tabbed mode. Which brings me on to another question, really trivial, but can I start i3 in tabbed mode? I've looked through the i3 site but can't see anything obvious.

You can:
http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#_la … containers

This option determines in which mode new containers on workspace level will start.

Syntax:
workspace_layout <default|stacking|tabbed>

Example:
workspace_layout tabbed

That's handy on my netbook with 1024x768 resolution.

Offline

#121 2013-06-14 14:54:30

anticapitalista
#! Member
Registered: 2010-08-03
Posts: 93

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Anyone noticed an increase in RAM usage with the latest updates?

I had to add this line to my .xinitrc (on antiX).

--shmlog-size 0

https://faq.i3wm.org/question/1405/i3-45-memory-usage/

I'm using

i3 -v
i3 version 4.5.1-75-g75206db (2013-06-10, branch "next") © 2009-2013 Michael Stapelberg and contributors

Last edited by anticapitalista (2013-06-14 14:59:20)

Offline

#122 2013-06-14 15:05:45

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

I blooming knew it! Many thanks. smile


I didn't say it was your fault... I said I was going to blame you.

Offline

#123 2013-07-05 18:16:36

kbmonkey
#! Die Hard
From: South Africa
Registered: 2011-01-14
Posts: 879
Website

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

After pulling the latest code of i3 I found a bunch of new dependencies to build it, here is the list for anyone interested:

sudo apt-get install libxcb-keysyms1-dev libxcb-util0-dev libxcb-icccm4-dev 
libyajl-dev libstartup-notification0-dev libxcb-randr0-dev libev-dev 
libxcb-xinerama0-dev libxcursor-dev

cool

Offline

#124 2013-07-05 18:57:29

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

anticapitalista wrote:

Anyone noticed an increase in RAM usage with the latest updates?

I had to add this line to my .xinitrc (on antiX).

--shmlog-size 0

https://faq.i3wm.org/question/1405/i3-45-memory-usage/

I'm using

i3 -v
i3 version 4.5.1-75-g75206db (2013-06-10, branch "next") © 2009-2013 Michael Stapelberg and contributors

noticed a slight increase, nothing like what is mentioned in the link.  what is your experience, what was it before and after adding --shmlog-size 0


grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#125 2013-07-05 21:44:46

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

wow, huge difference.   in htop went from .8% to .1%.  Can't believe I missed that.  Thanks! 
.xinitrc now reads

i3 --shmlog-size 0

grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo