SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#126 2013-07-18 08:42:23

DebianJoe
#! Code Whisperer
From: The Bleeding Edge
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 1,207
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

+1 to learning to deal without Synaptic.  Synaptic is "nerfing" you as a user.  You can do everything plus some with apt-get or aptitude, whichever you prefer.

apt-cache depends <libpkg_name>

Will allow recursive dependency checking (which is what I believe that you're speaking about in "what program goes with what library.")  If you remember in the Matrix, where they did the "jump test," that's what we're trying to talk you into.  You want to be free, don't you? big_smile

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#127 2013-07-18 09:47:16

ohyran
#! Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2013-05-31
Posts: 80
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Hahaha big_smile

I'll give it a try but if you force me to wear those dopey leather coats and sunglasses indoors I'll just have to go back to Synaptic smile
(although, how do you find new and fun stuff to try if you don't have it?)


>>>I draw pretty pictures for a living!<<<
>>>>>>>>>>>>#! Animal<<<<<<<<<<<<

Offline

#128 2013-07-18 10:05:41

DebianJoe
#! Code Whisperer
From: The Bleeding Edge
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 1,207
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

To search for code word in the description:

apt-cache search 'Text editor'
aptitude search 'Text editor'

Either one.
wink

Offline

#129 2013-07-18 20:14:24

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

ohyran wrote:

Ivanegro: Ahaaa! I found this: http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=27584 , is that the fix you refer to?

Yep, seems that is it.

Offline

#130 2013-07-18 22:11:16

ohyran
#! Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2013-05-31
Posts: 80
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

... ok so I just borked my system big_smile
Actually it had nothing to do with the Sid thing per say but rather me wildly trying to install nvidia 319 driver via the xmexmx-something script and getting a non-existant xorg config (with no idea how to properly create a new one for the display)... soooo I just redid the whole process, reinstall everything, change sources and now I'm gonna try to install the Nvidia drivers again (I will suceed to be able to play steam games on this computer come hell or high water!

Anyway - just wanted to say that UP TO that point everything went swimmingly! Installed stuff through the terminal instead of Synaptic and all... smile

Image for reference. "Anything you can build I can bork-bork-bork"

tumblr_lvo33xeMg81qa0bpfo1_400.jpg

Last edited by ohyran (2013-07-18 22:12:43)


>>>I draw pretty pictures for a living!<<<
>>>>>>>>>>>>#! Animal<<<<<<<<<<<<

Offline

#131 2013-07-18 23:09:28

pidsley
Window Mangler
Registered: 2012-05-23
Posts: 1,752

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Breaking things is a learning experience :-) You might want to try smxi for installing the nvdia driver. See this topic: http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 53#p267753

(ignore the Liquorix kernel-upgrade portion if all you want to do is install the nvdia drivers)

Last edited by pidsley (2013-07-18 23:10:36)

Offline

#132 2013-07-18 23:35:35

hinto
#! Windbag
From: Cary, NC
Registered: 2010-12-08
Posts: 1,480

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

You can always boot a liveCD and edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
That way you don't have to re-install your system... unless you want to.
Usually you can either delete it, or change the driver there so you can boot your system and fix it.
-Hinto


"Sometimes I wish I hadn't taken the red pill" -Me

Offline

#133 2013-07-18 23:52:19

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

You can even edit it from the tty the next time with nano or vim.

Offline

#134 2013-07-19 05:38:05

DebianJoe
#! Code Whisperer
From: The Bleeding Edge
Registered: 2013-03-13
Posts: 1,207
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

ivanovnegro wrote:

You can even edit it from the tty the next time with nano or vim.

or emacs -nw devil

Offline

#135 2013-07-19 15:51:21

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

^ I forgot Joe's sauce. smile

Offline

#136 2013-07-19 16:00:41

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

You can always boot a liveCD and edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Right..
I would always make a specific backup of the working xorg.conf before the changes.
Then if it Borked..
From a LiveCD

cp xorg.backup xorg.conf

reboot to a console

modprobe i915 

  (or whatever driver you use as a Basic)

Basically that should put you back........

Last edited by sqlpython (2013-07-19 16:01:21)


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1,  Slackware 14,  Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#137 2013-07-28 13:42:34

ohm
New Member
Registered: 2013-07-28
Posts: 3

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

I followed the guide in this threat to upgrade to sid and it worked out pretty well.

There are two things that I had to fix which might be worth adding to the guide.

1. I was getting Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.d/50-user.conf", line 9: reading configurations from ~/.fonts.conf is deprecated message when launching applications.

To fix it I had to

mkdir -p $HOME/.config/fontconfig
mv $HOME/.fonts.conf $HOME/.config/fontconfig/fonts.conf

Source

2. I was no longer able to mount internal partitions using Thunar.

I was getting "Failed to mount "partition".  Authentication is required." message

Running "udisks --mount /dev/sdc1" from terminal worked though.

Upgrading to lightdm didn't fix the issue.

I followed this guide and had to make the changes to /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks2.policy. Making changes to org.freedesktop.udisks.policy didn't seem to work.

It looks like udisks2 is now the default for mounting instead of udisks as per this discussion.

Last edited by ohm (2013-07-28 14:21:47)

Offline

#138 2013-08-07 03:07:53

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

DebianJoe wrote:

If you remember in the Matrix, where they did the "jump test," that's what we're trying to talk you into.  You want to be free, don't you? big_smile

lol lol

DebianJoe wrote:

To search for code word in the description:

apt-cache search 'Text editor'
aptitude search 'Text editor'

Either one.
wink

IMO, Synaptic is better when you want to discover other apps.  However, once one finds something, then of course one should use apt-get or aptitude to install it.

Using aptitude, if you want information on a specific package, then:

aptitude show <package name>

Last edited by KrunchTime (2013-08-07 03:09:43)


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#139 2013-08-07 03:12:27

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

ohm wrote:

I followed the guide in this threat to upgrade to sid and it worked out pretty well.

I've always used this tutorial with success when upgrading a CrunchBang install to Sid, although I skip some of the steps/suggestions.  Shoutout to machinebacon for the fine tutorial.

Last edited by KrunchTime (2013-08-07 03:12:56)


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#140 2013-08-07 04:01:01

th3pun15h3r
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 571

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

I was able to use this to change my statler to waldorf and keep my kernel.  I tried moving it to sid and it ended up adding gnome 3 and crap.  I think if I want a #! sid ill just do the bbq darkside that machinebacon made (thanks for both the guide and your bbq creations btw machinebacon u rock!).

Offline

#141 2013-08-07 04:15:22

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

th3pun15h3r wrote:

I tried moving it to sid and it ended up adding gnome 3 and crap.

Same thing happened to me on my ASUS laptop.  Never happened on my Dell laptop, though.  The only difference OS-wise between the two is I used a beta Wheezy release on the ASUS laptop to move to Sid, whereas I used the official release on my Dell laptop.


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#142 2015-01-25 03:05:06

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

I updated the OP, however - those who follow the instructions should be aware that they have to edit quite a lot of stuff and - because sid is a moving target - these instructions might become outdated sometime when Jessie goes stable.

Have fun and smile when it goes up in smoke wink


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#143 2015-01-25 08:15:17

vic
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,340

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Thanks for the update. So much easier to link potential sidders to borkdoom now.  wink


Time to move on!#

Casual - A nano opera

Offline

#144 2015-02-03 23:36:20

freistil
#! Member
Registered: 2014-12-16
Posts: 66

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Right now working well is using aptitude instead of apt-get - I had almost no changes to apply.

Only issue for me was the xfce4-power icon disappeared - I remapped the power-settings to a key and the 'new' tint2 had the option of directly displaying battery-level and time until fully loaded/deloaded.
Also I had to change a little bit in the slim.config (autologin and default user).

Rest worked like a charm.

Offline

#145 2015-02-04 05:49:00

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Of course, aptitude or apt or wajig, choose your poison wink In some situations aptitude is (positively) aggressive to solve dependency problems, but sid is moving comparably fast, so it might change. As long as you don't use synaptic, you're set.


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#146 2015-02-04 05:54:47

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Apt versus Aptitude under Sid/Unstable:

"aptitude is often not a good idea with sid. But if you know, what you do, use it. We recommend apt-get because its dumb enough for a fast moving target like sid. aptitude try to be clever in situations where no cleverness is needed"

--agaida, Siduction Software Support (EN) forum
http://forum.siduction.org/index.php?to … 2#msg25122


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#147 2015-02-04 06:22:30

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

^ That's why they ship aptitude in siduction big_smile

(The info is from sidux times, they even mention 'adept' as a no-go: http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- … pt-upgrade -- I do agree though, APT is the pacman of choice in sid, and if aptitude would do something that fixes somethng that APT cannot fix, it has a reason -- usually it turns out a few days later when the next upgrade happens)


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#148 2015-02-04 06:26:09

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

I've had better mileage using apt-get versus aptitude when using distros based on Sid/Unstable, especially when performing distro upgrades, not so much for single package installs though.


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#149 2015-02-04 06:37:55

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Maybe there is a difference if a user *always only* uses aptitude? Not sure if using them side by side is a good idea (IMO it isn't) -- I have never used aptitude exclusively.

Anyway, siduction/sidux recommends this (I do so, too), some users recommend that, there's no Big Book Of Truths, IMO smile


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#150 2015-03-18 07:06:33

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,190

Re: HowTo: Upgrade the #! Point Release to sid

Based on my experience using Siduction, agaida's comment was correct.  There were instances where aptitude was too smart for it's own good and apt-get was the better tool.


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo