SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-22 03:32:46

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,956

if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

For quite some time now, I've noticed quite a few forum members having trouble getting software from the Debian repos; usually these are new users or users that are new to Waldorf.  As far as I can tell, this is usually due to trouble with the Debian Repo Redirector in the default /etc/apt/sources.list file, because the problem almost always goes away once that is changed to the main Debian repo or one of the more stable mirrors.

If you have an unmodified /etc/apt/sources.list and you experience such trouble, open said file in your most hated text editor as root (e.g. `sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list`) and change

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main contrib non-free

to

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian wheezy main contrib non-free

Then run `sudo apt-get update` and try again.  If this resolves the problem, please feel free to PM corenominal suggesting that this be changed in the ISOs. devil

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2013-07-22 03:48:18

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

To add, if the main repo is slow for you, you can find the fastest with netselect-apt.

From the command line run

sudo apt-get install netselect-apt

Once it is installed run

sudo netselect-apt [wheezy|testing|unstable]

The program will run and test all of the mirrors choosing the 10 fastest. From these 10 it will show the fastest overall. It is supposed to write a new sources.list but this doesn't work for me. I simply change the repo manually. Since doing this I've noticed much better speeds for upgrades.


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#3 2013-08-23 23:52:54

callicles
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 48
Website

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Hi annoyingbeggar,

Forgive me if I have screwed something up, but when I installed netselect-apt and then ran your code I got this:
2013_08_23_164756_642x378_scrot.jpg

the command without the arguments 'sudo netselected-apt' worked fine I think

Offline

#4 2013-08-24 00:15:42

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,956

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

^ The distribution channel - you have to select one.  Do not include the brackets; they're interpreted as command operators in Bash (part of the GNU core utilities, if I'm not mistaken).  For example, you might use `netselect-apt wheezy` or `netselect-apt testing`.

Offline

#5 2013-08-24 00:49:07

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,726

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

On another note pvsage..
There still seems to be some package overflow issues from when Wheezy went stable.
This of course is more noticeable in Jessie and Sid.

@annoyingbegger my understanding of netselect-apt..
is that it will just give you the top 10 based on current internet traffic. The following day might be a different top 10. smile

Offline

#6 2013-08-24 01:39:16

callicles
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 48
Website

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

pvsage wrote:

^ The distribution channel - you have to select one.  Do not include the brackets; they're interpreted as command operators in Bash (part of the GNU core utilities, if I'm not mistaken).  For example, you might use `netselect-apt wheezy` or `netselect-apt testing`.

duh--sorry

Offline

#7 2013-08-27 22:33:24

Sector11
Leonardo da Conci
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,186
Website

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

'netselect-apt' never seems to work for me ... it always tells me "uba" in Argentina and then a couple in Chile - for the top three, until I use them. then it's miserable speeds.

I always get better results with: http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/

deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ wheezy main contrib non-free

Just a thought.

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-08-27 22:34:17)


Q&As for Conky v1.9 & v1.10 | Conky Archives | All Conky Threads
.deb file editor | Debian Jessie: BunsenLabs subAlpha & Wally-jr
BL Forum Moderator | LinuxBBQ

Online

#8 2013-08-27 22:55:18

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,956

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Amusingly, for me the US mirror usually requires two or three `apt-get update`s to get a complete package list; strangely, ftp.debian.org - which I've recently been told is also a redirect - almost never gives me trouble.  As I said elsewhere...maybe geopolitical? hmm

Offline

#9 2013-09-02 20:16:25

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,184

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Thanks for the tip, pvsage.   smile


Linux User #586672
There aren't enough swear-words in the English language, so now I'll have to call you perkeleen vittupää just to express my disgust and frustration with this crap. -- Linus Torvalds

Offline

#10 2013-09-02 20:44:22

g33zr
#! Die Hard
From: Never Never Land
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 623

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Knock on wood--haven't had any problems instralling from the repos...yet.  glasses


I'm trying to think, but nothing happens. Curly Howard lol

OHCG | LXer | smxi

Offline

#11 2013-09-22 00:46:59

Basil15
Member
Registered: 2013-07-31
Posts: 20

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

My favourite issue: How to get the latest LibreOffice installed (usually doesn't show up in synaptic because it doesn't, I presume, get across from the developers to the repos for a couple of weeks or more). For LO 4.1.1.2  I followed the advice on the LO help page and just did a normal download from the LO downloads page, shifted the tar.gz to a convenient directory, unstuck it with archive manager and got a DEB directory with debs subdirectory. In lastnamed I raised a terminal and ran   sudo dpkg with the -i option and watched the installation process taking place perfectly well.
smile

After which I ran LibreOffice via the Main Menu (Super+Space) and watched LO3.5.4 come up.
sad

Messed around in /usr/bin and found that there were scripts for libreoffice and libreoffice. Clicking on the vanilla one brings up 3.5.4, on the 4.1 one brings up desired 4.1.1.2 .  The actual installation directory is /opt/libreoffice4.1 .

Ok, several options present to imagination. Rename libreoffice link to something else, libreoffice4.1 to libreoffice? Fails on permissions or lack thereof (I really don't recall being let into the secet of the root password when I installed #!)

Likewise for copying the new installation files into the standard directory.

OK, let's hack the menu system. In the process maybe get a direct shortcut into LOWriter, which I use 90% of the time and readily redirects for editing non-text files. But nay, going through everything in sight as well as a great deal behind the scenes shows up nothing so fundamental as how does a menu entry get around to directing an "execute" commanf to a specific file in a specific directory (I hasten to mention that I can type "libreoffice4.1" into a RUN window and get prompt service, but that's not quite the same as a keyboard short-cut, is it?)

Finally tracked down something called "cb-libreoffice-pipemenu", which   catfish   had denied the existence of, in   /user/bin/  .  After more detective work, found a reference to "lowriter" which is a (not hackable) shell script in /usr/bin/ . Getting a bit tired of this now.
.
Somebody put me out of my misery. Am I going to have to reinstall #! more carefully (did I miss the opportunity to specify a root password?) or is there some standard #! default root password that I can use ever so briefly?

Offline

#12 2013-09-22 01:16:24

wuxmedia
wookiee madclaw
From: Back in Blighty
Registered: 2012-03-09
Posts: 1,478
Website

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

/opt is an occasional install dir.
you might be looking for sudo ?
#! doesn't provide a root login/pass by default.
sudo make me a sandwich. http://xkcd.com/149/
good luck

Offline

#13 2013-09-22 08:32:12

Basil15
Member
Registered: 2013-07-31
Posts: 20

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Yes, thank you about opt/, I figured as much. But what are the conditions making CB choose to (create or) use it?

For the record, I did a short duct tape job by  sudo geany-ing the  lowriter file and changing the URL in it, so I can now Super+Space, press O and select Writer, with LO4.1.1.2 coming up fine. I'm sure I could sudo the directory overwrite as well - but should I have to? Shouldn't I be able to stipulate some parameter at LO install time that says Get in there and overwrite the exisitng installation while you're busy so that no fiddling with the menu system is required? (Remember, I did use synaptic to "remove" LO3.5.4, although I didn't select "Remove Entirely", wanting to retain my user preferences...)

Offline

#14 2013-09-22 08:41:53

Basil15
Member
Registered: 2013-07-31
Posts: 20

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

PS Loved the sandwi(t)ch

Offline

#15 2013-10-21 21:40:55

rezin
Member
Registered: 2013-10-21
Posts: 15

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

I am having some issues with my repos sad
I edited the /etc/apt/sources.list to

### CRUNCHBANG
## Compatible with Debian Wheezy, but use at your own risk.
deb http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main
#deb-src http://packages.crunchbang.org/waldorf waldorf main

## DEBIAN
deb http:/ftp.debian.org/debian wheezy main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main contrib non-free

## DEBIAN SECURITY
deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

Afterwards I ran

sudo apt-get update

and it doesn't update anything anymore. I tried to install netselect before I edited the sources.list but it gave me

sudo apt-get install netapt-get install netselect-apt
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package netselect-apt

I am running Waldorf 64bit.

Offline

#16 2013-10-21 21:48:10

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,956

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

Looks like you have a simple copy-paste error in your apt-get line. wink

Also, at the moment, there's an ongoing DDoS attack on the server hosting the CrunchBang repo, so you should comment out the Waldorf stanza and avoid running a dist-upgrade until we get an "all clear".

Offline

#17 2014-02-06 00:11:25

hakuin
New Member
From: Christchurch, New Zealand
Registered: 2014-02-05
Posts: 2

Re: if you have any trouble installing software from the repos...

I'm in New Zealand and the standard Debian repositories are very slow here.
apt-spy worked brilliantly for me, searching in Oceania, ending up with a fast mirror in Australia.
That mirror didn't have one for security updates though, so I manually changed my sources.list using another Aussie mirror found reading apt-spy output and checking it with the Debian official mirror list:

## DEBIAN SECURITY
#deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
#deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

## DEBIAN SECURITY LOCAL
deb ftp://mirror.aarnet.edu.au/pub/debian-security/ wheezy/updates main

I'm hoping this won't cause any problems for me?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo