SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-21 18:54:56

pxl8r
Member
From: Helsinki
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 32
Website

Replace nitrogen with feh

Again I refuse to work properly with nitrogen for the in the 3rd or 4th time for #! install. Thus without further ado, heres my (edited) suggestion:

1. Get feh, remove nitrogen
$ sudo apt-get install feh
$ sudo apt-get remove nitrogen


2. Set nice WP in feh
- Find a nice wallpaper image
- right click it to open it in feh, in feh righclick & select File > Background and the scaling


3. Repair autostart script
- Remove the line containing "nitrogen" from .config/openbox/autostart
- add the following line:
$HOME/.fehbg &
- finally, enable execute for .fehbg in shell:
$ chmod +x $HOME/.fehbg


Done! Sah-weet!

Last edited by pxl8r (2013-08-24 20:16:33)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2013-08-21 19:30:48

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,943

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

^ In what way does Nitrogen "refuse to work properly"?  I have never had a problem with it.

Offline

#3 2013-08-21 19:55:36

pxl8r
Member
From: Helsinki
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

Hi pvsage - in selection dialogue it shows the files greyed out despite the file permissions being set correctly (user:user).

Offline

#4 2013-08-21 20:09:00

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,943

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

I still don't understand.  You're saying the directories are greyed out, or just the files?  Because if we're talking about the same dialog, that's just where you set which directories it scans when launched without any command line options; files are greyed out because they are not directories.

Offline

#5 2013-08-21 20:52:31

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,534

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

Here's generally how Nitrogen works:

1. You open the application, which kinda speaks for itself  monkey
2. You open the Preferences dialog, click on Add and navigate to a folder that holds your potential wallpapers, which you, well, add.
3. Nitrogen scans those directories you just added for images and shows small thumbnails in the main window (the dialog should have automatically closed itself).
4. You select and image, choose how you want to scale it with the left most button and lastly, you click on Apply. Ta-daa!


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres
Github

I am a #! forum moderator. Feel free to send me a PM with any question you have!

Offline

#6 2013-08-21 21:33:31

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,943

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

^ In step 4, you forgot to include that you can double-click (or press Enter) on the thumbnail and view it as wallpaper before clicking Apply. wink

Offline

#7 2013-08-21 21:35:55

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,534

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

pvsage wrote:

^ In step 4, you forgot to include that you can double-click (or press Enter) on the thumbnail and view it as wallpaper before clicking Apply. wink

True, true, I've been thinking of adding it but over-writing your previous setting is just as easy  devil


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres
Github

I am a #! forum moderator. Feel free to send me a PM with any question you have!

Offline

#8 2013-08-24 20:09:05

pxl8r
Member
From: Helsinki
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

Oh well, crap is crap. Like my suggested autostart -change. I corrected it, should work properly now.

I guess nitrogen was just too fancy and advanced for me!

Offline

#9 2013-08-24 20:32:41

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,943

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

Not really "fancy", but like many open-source projects, nitrogen does have its quirks.

Might be a language barrier...anyone here (besides OP of course) fluent in Finnish?

Offline

#10 2013-08-24 20:35:22

th3pun15h3r
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 571

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

For me I just save all my wallpapers in ~/images/wallpapers so they show up every time, I never had a problem with nitrogen and never tried feh, thought feh was command line only so there is a GUI for it?

Offline

#11 2013-08-24 21:28:09

chillicampari
Pinball Wizard
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2,728

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

I found on the most recent Waldorf install I did in VirtualBox that if you invoke nitrogen on it's own (not from the menu link) it appears empty and I can see where it would be confusing. It does look like you should be able to select an image at the file level, but of course you can't, so maybe that's what this is about?

Offline

#12 2013-08-24 21:49:35

VDP76
#! Bean Roaster
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 840

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

th3pun15h3r wrote:

For me I just save all my wallpapers in ~/images/wallpapers so they show up every time

sym-links work well with nitrogen too!
feh seems to do its basic job well, but it lacks multi-monitor capabilities...


#!#!#! Forum etiquette #!#!#!
Are you a new member!? Have you introduced yourself?!
CLI basics | LVM | smxi | chrooting | multiarch

Offline

#13 2013-08-27 02:25:14

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,825
Website

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

Well, like this feh could also replace Viewnior wink


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#14 2013-08-27 03:28:31

bleach
#! Member
Registered: 2013-08-09
Posts: 98

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

feh is nice I use it but it is not very fashinable. It has a raw look to it and perhaps is not a good replacement on the live cd as a presentation of software. I use slim to place my wallpaper for if you have nothing managing them slim's background is used.


obstacles are only in your mind. how you deal with them is what "matters".

Offline

#15 2013-08-27 06:58:19

uname
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-03-15
Posts: 484

Re: Replace nitrogen with feh

nitrogen is very cool. random background in only one line. ok, i use the standard Debian Wheezy wallpaper ;-)

nitrogen --set-scaled --save "/usr/local/images/$(ls /usr/local/images | sort -R | sed 1q)"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo